Something I wrote two weeks ago…

The “I have no energy” conundrum.

 

"There are certain days, like today, that I happen to have less than half of the energy that I usually have. This is usually the result of a very long day, followed by a long night, a very late bedtime, and a very early wake-up call. Anyway, on these “lack of energy” days I usually grab a book or sit in front of the computer. I am doing something to keep myself awake so that I can keep an eye on my “I-got-plenty-of-sleep-and-have-tons-of-energy-to-prove-it” son. At this point I must admit that I am also more lax on these days. I allow certain things that I would normally not allow because I don’t really have the energy to deal with them appropriately. Now here’s the rub; in the end it can take more energy to ignore things than to deal with them right away.

 

Let me illustrate. Today, as I already pointed out, is one of those days. I was sitting at the computer, and had given Jonah had some cookies and crackers. He is usually really good with those, so no problem. He decided to dump his snacks into a saucepan that he brought out to the living room. Sort of okay. Then he got a spoon out of the silverware drawer. Not okay. I don’t let him help himself to silverware. But because of my lack of energy I just let it go. Well, he decided to use said spoon to pound some of his crackers and cookies into powder. Again I let it go. Big mistake. His next move was to dump said saucepan, full of said snacks, onto the floor in said living room! So much for saving my energy. I had to pick up all the cracker and cookie chunks, clean off the diaper bag that was covered with crumbs, and then vacuum the rest of the mess. I ended up expending more energy that if I would have just taken away the spoon, and kept his snacks in the kitchen." 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment